PDA

View Full Version : Advice to Prospective Officers

vancrazy
11-01-2006, 01:12 AM
I am a fourth year university student (Poli Sci, minor in Econ) and am interested in getting into post-war reconstruction. I see post-conflict stabalization/peacekeeping/peace-enforcement as the major challenge for the United States over the next several decades. I want to be in on the next Iraq, involved in the hostilities, the transition from hostilities to peace, and the reconstruction of stable, functioning institutions.

This desire has naturally led me to seek a commission in the US military. My question is this, which branch of the US military (Army or Marines) is:

A) Able to conduct such operations effectively and able to train me to participate in them?

B) Most likely to engage in this sort of mission?

I realize that each service is extremely broad and that I could be assigned to do a whole host of missions. Nevertheless, I would appreciate any insights/broad-generalizations that you can provide. Thanks.

jcustis
11-01-2006, 02:10 AM
I am a fourth year university student (Poli Sci, minor in Econ) and am interested in getting into post-war reconstruction. I see post-conflict stabalization/peacekeeping/peace-enforcement as the major challenge for the United States over the next several decades. I want to be in on the next Iraq, involved in the hostilities Be extremely careful what you wish for...better yet, don't wish for it. It will find you in due time, the transition from hostilities to peace, and the reconstruction of stable, functioning institutions.

This desire has naturally led me to seek a commission in the US military. My question is this, which branch of the US military (Army or Marines) is: