PDA

View Full Version : Bush Draws Iraq/Vietnam Comparison

UCrawford
11-17-2006, 03:56 PM
I'm curious what anyone else thought about this article about Bush's comments comparing the Iraq and Vietnam wars:

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20061117/ap_on_go_pr_wh/bush_60

I noticed a few Vietnam vets on this site and I was interested in what any of you might think.

Tom Odom
11-17-2006, 05:28 PM
I am not a Vietnam vet so I won't go there.

I am a Lebanon vet, however, and that is the real comparison we need to be making because that is where the parallels in ethnic and religious schisms are closest. 1975 to 2006 Lebanon offers a pretty good model for how Iraq may look like 5, 10, or more years from now. The big differences are of course, the Lebanese do not have the oil reserves and the Christians have traditionally been the dominant group. The simularities howver are striking: in both the Shia have emerged as a force to be reckoned with. Nasrallah and Hisballah are models for Muqtada al Sar and his militia, both have larger neighbors more than willing to meddle/intervene in their own interests, and Iraq like Lebanon has the challenge of competing ethnic/sectarian groups pursuing their own agendas. Sadly, I would say the Lebanese were in 1975 and now are in 2006 light years ahead of the Iraqis in mastering this art.

Best
Tom

UCrawford
11-17-2006, 05:43 PM