PDA

View Full Version : what to do with a JD in Small Wars?

Cato the Younger
11-19-2007, 01:48 AM
Dear All-
I am a second year Law Student with no military experience. I have many friends (most even) who are active duty United States Marine Infantry (enlisted), Army Rangers (guy from HS who went to West Point), a buddy in the Air Force (Pilot). They have all told me about their experiences in Iraq. Additonally, I work with a Vietnam combat vet, and have a Korean War veteran in my family (was at Pusan, the Yalu, Korea 50-53). So, I am wondering what path I should take to contribute to the US GWOT/small war (I am a US Citizen).

Thanks in advance for your advice,
Cato the Younger

Stu-6
11-19-2007, 01:55 AM
Well the easy answer would be a JAG officer. There is alot more work for lawyers in Iraq than you might think.

Rob Thornton
11-19-2007, 02:21 AM
I'll second Stu-6 on that one - finish your law degree and put that education to work in the field, then when you come back - even if you leave the JAG corps and the military, you'll still influence people back here. Talk to SWC member LawVol for his take on being a lawyer in the military and in a combat zone.

Best of Luck & Best regards, Rob

LawVol
11-19-2007, 02:40 AM
Stu-6 is correct, JAG is the obvious answer. He is also right that there is alot of work for lawyers in Iraq and elsewhere. Since I am an Air Force JAG, I can only really speak some of the things we are doing, but I'm familiar with some of what the Army JAGs are doing as well.