PDA

View Full Version : Question about online certificate programs...

Oscar98
02-24-2008, 05:33 AM
Hello all, 2nd post... I was told this might be a good place to ask. I am probably deploying this summer and would like to take a class or two online while I'm downrange. My long term goal is to get a Masters in Intelligence/National Security or (preferably) economics. I've knocked out most (if not all) prerequisites for an MBA, but am probably changing my vector. So... I am studying for the GRE right now, but don't plan on applying for a full-up Masters program until I can attend, a$$-in-seat (I prefer that to the online stuff). That said, there looks like a decent number of online certificate programs out there, and that might be the way to go for the short term. I've looked at the Bush School at A&M, Thunderbird, The Institute of World Politics, GWU, Maryland, Tufts, and of course, AMU.

Do any of you see a lot of Masters programs accepting transfer credits earned in Certificate Programs? And I've found little, to no useful avenue for online economics programs... so are there any recommendations there? I've already read much on hear about AMU and Norwich, so of the others above, what do you think about those schools online resources? Thanks.

SWCAdmin
02-24-2008, 01:47 PM
Answering with a vague generality...

Whenever I've looked closely at this, it has been my experience that the better the school and the more advanced in the curriculum the course is, the less likely they are to accept a transfer credit. From anywhere, online or no.

For this question in the context of an undergrad, it is advisable to stick with general ed low-end requirements that are more likely to transfer. Since those are fewer and farther between at the masters level, you are on thinner ice. We have talked here before about some online masters. But you are asking a different question -- external transfer credits (online or no) to a resident masters.