PDA

View Full Version : Dissertation

Mr.Sparkle
03-07-2008, 05:20 PM
Hello. I am studying International Relations at undergraduate degree level and have recently become interested in the subject of small wars and counter-insurgency and wish to write my dissertation on the subject.

Does anybody have suggestions on what particular aspects or questions might form a good dissertation, and hopefully be interesting to study?

Cheers folks,
Mr.Sparkle

marct
03-07-2008, 05:31 PM
Hello. I am studying International Relations at undergraduate degree level and have recently become interested in the subject of small wars and counter-insurgency and wish to write my dissertation on the subject.

Does anybody have suggestions on what particular aspects or questions might form a good dissertation, and hopefully be interesting to study?

Well, without knowing more about your situation, that's really an impossible question to answer ;). Why don't you introduce yourself (http://council.smallwarsjournal.com/showthread.php?t=1441) in this thread and, maybe, post some more details on your program here?

Marc

Ken White
03-07-2008, 05:32 PM
I'm sure folks here will be willing and able to help but most like to have some idea to whom they are providing what.

Why not go to this LINK (http://council.smallwarsjournal.com/showthread.php?p=41314#post41314), scroll through some of the earlier Posts there to get an idea of things others have said as an introduction and give us some background on who you are and at what level your interests lie and your experience resides.

Mr.Sparkle
03-07-2008, 05:56 PM
It would be my pleasure, but I don't have a great deal of experience. I'm English, in my second year of a degree in International Relations. My degree includes a security studies component. Quite recently I've become interested in the counter-insurgency in Iraq and Afghanistan, which has been increased by a desire to serve in the armed forces when I graduate.