PDA

View Full Version : Metal music - still in the thought stage

marct
04-19-2008, 05:42 PM
Hi Guys,

I was sitting around having a beer with my wife before my concert last night and we got into a discussion about people playing music in theatre - especially metal. I remember seeing something on 60 Minutes about people in Iraq patching their iPods into speaker systems, and that led to wonder about what type of music people were playing during different types of activities.

One of the areas I've been researching for about 4-5 years now has been the effects of music on consciousness - so far limited to differences between Baroque and popular music, but one of my best students has been looking into metal.

So, what I'm wondering about now is there any articular type or genre of music that is associated with particular types of in theatre operations? Are there any particular songs that are associated with perceptions of what is immediately happening?

Any thoughts, etc. would be welcome. Thanks,

Marc

Gian P Gentile
04-19-2008, 09:02 PM
Marc:

Are you referring to Iraqis, Americans, or both?

gian

Rank amateur
04-19-2008, 09:04 PM
You need to check out The Doonesbury character Toggle.

Start here and click forward. (http://www.doonesbury.com/strip/dailydose/index.html?uc_full_date=20071126) PS. the first punchline reminds me of Rob.

SteveMetz
04-19-2008, 09:40 PM
Isn't "The Ride of the Valkyries" still required for air assault missions?

Umar Al-Mokhtār
04-19-2008, 09:50 PM
Classic!

In Gulf War I we would listen to bands like Poison, Guns n Roses, Cheap Trick, Motley Crue, Metallica, Slayer, Megadeth, Def Leppard, Van Halen, Ratt, and Anthrax. We usually had a mix of both CDs and tapes and most times only listened in one ear.

patmc
04-19-2008, 09:56 PM
During convoys, no music. Just the sound of the truck and the road. Not much fun, but you cannot hear the radios or the driver and gunner otherwise. Sucks, but driving around Iraq sucks, so its not a huge shock.