PDA

View Full Version : WTUs

reed11b
09-11-2008, 07:40 PM
http://www.army.mil/-news/2008/08/21/11799-commentary-every-american-should-visit-a-warrior-transition-unit"]www.army.mil/-news/2008/08/21/11799-commentary-every-american-should-visit-a-warrior-transition-unit

I can not wrap my mind around the WTU concept. As a counselor and as a soldier, my heart and mind scream "NO No No!" that separating a soldier from his unit is the same as separating him from greatest support group. Some of the concept; especially the availability of case management make sense to me however. There are two WTU's in my AOR and one is a complete poison pill that has good soldiers going bad and bad soldiers getting worse, w/ a very low success rate for rehabilitation back to duty. The other one is well thought of by the soldiers in it and by the community as a whole. I have seen soldiers from that unit that I never thought would be able to continue to serve do so and do it well and with pride.

What are the opinions and experiences regarding WTU's from the members of this forum? Everybody feel free to chime in, you may help me in my work and by extension help some of our fellow combat vets.
Reed

jkm_101_fso
09-11-2008, 07:50 PM
What are the opinions and experiences regarding WTU's from the members of this forum? Everybody feel free to chime in, you may help me in my work and by extension help some of our fellow combat vets.

I don't know much about them. I do know one guy in the WTU and he basically does nothing all day. His morale is in the toilet. He's getting out.

I also know that my unit sent a hapless NCO there to be the 1SG of the WTU. I can't imagine he will do anything for them except decrease morale. Apparently there was no vetting process for leaders in the WTU.

Hacksaw
09-11-2008, 08:26 PM
It doesn't surprise me, but breaks my heart that a unit sent one of its worst to lead Soldiers in great need... You get what you pay for...