PDA

View Full Version : Graduate Student Seeking to Interview Regarding "Strategic Assessment in War"

JeffWolf
04-28-2006, 07:16 PM
I am a PhD student in political science at the University of Washington. I
am writing an MA paper on decision-making and doctrine in conventional wars, a topic that has been largely neglected in the political science literature. I am proceeding to test Scott Sigmund Gartner's "Strategic Assessment in War" (<http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0300060343/sr=8-1/qid=1146245151/ref=sr_1_1/002-0390783-5384836?%5Fencoding=UTF8>); the other work in political science that deals with the topic is Stephen Rosen's "Winning the Next War: Innovation and the Modern Military" (<http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0801481961/qid=1146245218/sr=2-1/ref=pd_bbs_b_2_1/002-0390783-5384836?s=books&v=glance&n=283155>).

The crux of Gartner's argument is that key metrics ("dominant indicators")
drive decision making. In the Battle of Atlantic, for example, key metrics
may have been allied ships sunk, supplies successfully convoyed, submarines
successfully sunk, etc. Andrew Krepinevich's "How to Win in Iraq" <http://www.foreignaffairs.org/20050901faessay84508/andrew-f-krepinevich-jr/how-to-win-in-iraq.html> is an example of metrics that specifically deals with small wars.

Gartner's particular spin is that *acceleration* in key metrics drives change. Decision-makers don't change tactics/operations/strategy because metrics hit some good/bad absolute value, nor do they change tactics/operations/strategy because things are getting better/worse; they change tactics/operations/strategy because things are getting better/worse at a (seemingly) faster or slower rate. For example, a certain period of time may have exhibited the most convoys attacked, but if the number of convoys attacked seems to be slowing (decelerating), one might not be inclined to make changes.