PDA

View Full Version : The Navy's Respose to a given Scenario

VernonChisholm
05-30-2009, 11:17 PM
This is my first time to this site, so sorry if I posted the question in the wrong place!

Given the recent episodes of pirate activities against passing ships in the North Africa region, I put the following situation forward to the forum---perhaps there are some naval offricers can answer this:---

A group of pirates have seized cotrol of a cruise ship carrying hundreds of passengers. It is known that they are armed with anti-aircraft missiles (this is known the hard way---an aproaching Search-And-Rescue helicopter was shot down when it got within lethal range), along with other heavy weapons. It is also known that the pirates have the components for a long-range nuclear missile system, and, if given sufficient time, they could assemble, arm, and launch this weapon at any surface or land target they choose.

Armed with all this information, what can the Navy legally do? I'm sure that, if a country has confidence in her military, I'm sure she can legally launch an operation to re-take the ship. But my BIG question is this---does any country have the legal right to treat that ship as hostile---to attack and destroy such a ship in a pre-emptive strike? Cound any country legally even issue a threat to do so?

John T. Fishel
05-30-2009, 11:36 PM
that the Indian Navy attacked the cruise ship and sank her. In the explosion, all hands (and passengers) were lost. What is the international community through its institutions going to do about it? Take India to the ICJ? Only with India's consent. I'm sure the lawyers here might see things differently - but maybe not since international law has no enforcement mechanism other than states themselves.

BTW, you should introduce yourself.

Cheers

JohnT

jmm99
05-30-2009, 11:56 PM
you let this mere fact ....

... since international law has no enforcement mechanism other than states themselves