Thread: Set of scanned Soviet KGB docs

Council Member

Default Set of scanned Soviet KGB docs

Set of docs about KGB support to different organisations around the globe. In Russian of course

http://psi.ece.jhu.edu/~kaplan/IRUSS...rr-wd-eng.html

Council Member

Default Solution to Russian Problem

Hi Kaur,

Interesting collection, but as you say it's in Russian - and the pdf files are not in copyable text.

Recently, I bought a CD-box version of ABBYY FineReader 11 Professional Edition from Amazon - there are cheaper priced versions out there, but Caveat Emptor !! Alternatives are Omnipage and Adobe Acrobat; for my purposes & after reading a bunch of reviews, I decided on ABBYY. As such I am an ABBYY newbie - and what follows is down, dirty and doesn't use the full capabilities of the program.

I downloaded 0927 04-Apr-77 CT50/131 Ammunition for the military camp in Zimbabwe (from your link); and then separated page 1 by PRN to Disc using doPDF v7 (a good freebie).

400+ document types supported - the principle is this, if a document type is printable, then doPDF can create a PDF file out of it. This is why you can convert documents such as: DOC, DOCX, DJVU, XLS, XLSX, XPS, PPT, PPTX, DOT, EML, VSD, PUB, PUBX, MPP, WPD, OpenOffice, DWG, HTML, TXT, PNG, JPEG, GIF, TIFF and many others.
    That still left me with a text uncopyable, unsearchable file, which I converted to a searchable (also text copyable) PDF file using ABBYY (which has other conversions and a 100 other features as to which I'm stupid). The resultant PDF file is attached.

Then highlight and copy the text and paste it into Google translate, getting this:

ПОСТАНОВЛЕНИЕ
    Секретариата Ц К Комму н ис т и ч ес к о й Партии Со ве т с к о г о Союза
    О просьбах руководства Африканского национального совета
    Зимбабве (Родезия)
    Поручить Министерству обороны СССР, ГКЭС и Министерству
    внешней торговли изучить перечень просьб Африканского нацио-