Thread: Debating the War Powers Act

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Debating the War Powers Act

It looks like another "bi-partisan" group is at it again:

http://www.cnn.com/2008/POLITICS/07/08/war.powers/

This legislation from 1973 has been regularly ignored by most Presidents since it was passed, Republican and Democrat alike.

Does it need to be re-looked?

In this age of warfare, is the term "declare war on..." obsolete?

Would any new legislation encompass "peace-keeping" deployments, as well?

I'm no expert, but isn't the only "power" the legislative branch has over the executive branch in regards to the military is the "power of the purse" and said "war declaration"?
    Sir, what the hell are we doing?

Default I must say, I agree

All of the points made above may actually be valid, however, I agree that the War Powers act does need to be revised if not repealed altogether. In the first place, it is probanbly unconstitutional. But, in my opinion, it has been the source of much of the discontent between the Executive and the Legislative branch. Indeed constitutionally the only powers the Legislative branch holds over the Executive when it comes to war is the power to declare, and to fund war, but what a power. If Congress just used that power it wouldn't need a war powers act at all.
    Audentes adiuvat fortuna
    "Abu Suleyman"

I'm not a moderator, nor do I play one on TV, but I suspect that this thread has the likelihood to devolve into much more to do with politics than the focus of the Small Wars Journal as stated here:
    Small Wars Journal facilitates and supports the exchange of information among practitioners, thought leaders, and students of Small Wars, in order to advance knowledge and capabilities in the field.
    Vir prudens non contra ventum mingit
    The greatest educational dogma is also its greatest fallacy: the belief that what must be learned can necessarily be taught. — Sydney J. Harris