Thread: Looking for older FID manuals

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Council Member

Default Looking for older FID manuals

Does anyone have accessible copies of the older FID manuals from the 1960s and 1970s? I'm a PhD student with the Defence Academy of the United Kingdom trying to ascertain what guidance was available to the first Western officers trying to reconstruct armies after civil wars in the 1980s: especially Zimbabwe with the BMATT but also later efforts.

Cheers and thanks

Default Combined Arms Research Library

Try this link to Fort Leavenworth.

http://cgsc.leavenworth.army.mil/CARL/index.asp

They have a large number of manuals that are obsolete in PDF files that are easily downloaded. If you go back to the 1950s and 1960s you will need to use key words such as counterinsurgency (look for the 1963 field manual US Army in COIN) and counter-guerrilla operations as FID was not yet invented. Also you will need to look for Low Intensity Conflict.
    David S. Maxwell
    "Irregular warfare is far more intellectual than a bayonet charge." T.E. Lawrence

The State of Partachia, at the eastern end of the Mediterranean

Quote Originally Posted by Colin Robinson View Post
    Does anyone have accessible copies of the older FID manuals from the 1960s and 1970s? I'm a PhD student with the Defence Academy of the United Kingdom trying to ascertain what guidance was available to the first Western officers trying to reconstruct armies after civil wars in the 1980s: especially Zimbabwe with the BMATT but also later efforts.
    As concerns UK manuals, none that I can think of. Most well read UK officers would have been familiar with Kitson, Paget, and a few other of the usual suspects.