Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Law Enforcement Analysis

Default Law Enforcement Analysis

Any papers, books, or any other suggestions for Crime or Intelligence Analysis in Law Enforcement? I work as a Crime Analyst at the Precinct level and am trying to fine tune more in depth "go fast" products for my Chain of Command to create more actionable intel for them. Any suggestions would be great. Thanks in advance. Don't worry if they are Military related, I was a trained Infantry Officer at one time....many years/pounds ago.... If you are concerned about security aspects I can be reached directly at 206-684-0859. If you are going to send examples I can only receive LE sensitive items. I no longer have a Secret clearance. Thanks again!!

Default Question?

Before I respond, if you are still POST certifed what happened to your secret clearance??

Council Member

First off, I recommend you sign up for the LEAnalyst list-serv. Its a non-secure e-mail list-serv that is useful for putting you into contact with a wide network of LE intel types across the spectrum from state and local to fed level.
    The primary purpose of the LEANALYST mailing list is to provide a place where law enforcement employees (sworn and non-sworn), academia (instructors and students), and businesses providing products or services to the law enforcement community can meet and exchange information, methods, and ideas regarding the analysis of crime. We allow other law enforcement-related postings in order to encourage a free flow of information regarding all manner of law enforcement concerns.
    There are also two professional organizations that can help you out:

The International Association of Crime Analysts makes available a lot of useful little tools through the "Resources" link on their website. They've also published a pretty decent book Exploring Crime Analysis: Readings on Essential Skills that covers a wide range of skills and analytic techniques used to support LE.