Thread: Tactical campaign planning for COIN/SSTR

Default Tactical campaign planning for COIN/SSTR

I'm hoping to gain an appreciation from experienced operations folks (i.e. this community!) who can ground me in the realities of how tactical-level campaign design and planning is conducted, with a focus on the systems used and the potential for simple ways technology could help make a difference (or maybe even how they make things worse) I frequent here but haven't seen a focused discussion on this topic.

I'm researching tactical-level campaign planning for COIN/SSTR as practiced in A'stan. I've digested the relevant doctrine (principally FM 3-24, 3-07, and TRADOC Commander's Appreciation, ...) I'm a research engineer for a small R&D DOD contractor with projects at AFRL, ONR and in the past TEC/AGC.

Any insights, lessons learned, or pointers would be greatly appreciated.

Very Respectfully,
    Dustin

The State of Partachia, at the eastern end of the Mediterranean

Quote Originally Posted by burkestar View Post

I'm researching tactical-level campaign planning for COIN/SSTR as practiced in A'stan. I've digested the relevant doctrine (principally FM 3-24, 3-07, and TRADOC Commander's Appreciation, ...) I'm a research engineer for a small R&D DOD contractor with projects at AFRL, ONR and in the past TEC/AGC.
    What is tactical-level campaign planning? I understand Campaign planning, but I'm not sure what you are after. However I am sure there are many here happy to help, within the relevant OPSEC caveats.

...and is this information for commercial purposes or academic?
    Infinity Journal "I don't care if this works in practice. I want to see it work in theory!"

- The job of the British Army out here is to kill or capture Communist Terrorists in Malaya.
    - If we can double the ratio of kills per contact, we will soon put an end to the shooting in Malaya.
    Sir Gerald Templer, foreword to the "Conduct of Anti-Terrorist Operations in Malaya," 1958 Edition