|
||||||||
|
||||||||
| Media, Information & Cyber Warriors Getting the story, dealing with those who do, and operating in the information & cyber domains. Not the news itself, that's here. |
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
|
#1 | |
|
Council Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 152
|
Just sharing some adventures in online fundraising (maybe) by the Taliban. 12 Dec 09: Spotted a new page allowing people to donate to the Taliban via PayPal or major credit card. 16 Dec 09: Someone posting to a jihadi forum says it's a fake. 17 Dec 09: It appears to be really associated with the Taliban because there's a link to the site from the Pashto-language version of their Voice of Jihad page. 27 Jan 10: Now, what appears to be an official Taliban statement on a jihadi forum says: Quote:
My theories: 1) The site is still linked to the Taliban, but the Taliban is trying to discourage folks from using it lest PayPal collect information of interest to those hunting bad guys. 2) The Taliban tried the concept, and are now dumping it. 3) The site was set up by the good guys to help lure and track dopey donors. 4) The site was set up by a cyber hacker as a scam. Any other thoughts/ideas/theories? |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Council Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 3,710
|
Might also have been done by a fellow traveller
.
__________________
Sic Bisquitus Disintegrat... Marc W.D. Tyrrell, Ph.D. Institute of Interdisciplinary Studies, Senior Research Fellow, The Canadian Centre for Intelligence and Security Studies, NPSIA Carleton University http://marctyrrell.com/ |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Council Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 98
|
They could also be phishing for responses. It could be a huge screw up. There's not enough information to know.
|
|
|
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|